ALBUM REVIEW: Anthrax – For All Kings

Originally published 2/29/16

Thrash metallers and “big four” members Anthrax dropped their latest album, For All Kings, on Friday 2/26. For All Kings is the band’s 11th studio album and the follow up to 2011’s Worship Music. We got our hands on the album a few days early and were able to review it. Read through for our thoughts.

I’ll start by saying that I joined the party very late on Anthrax, getting my first real taste of them with Worship Music. I’d never been into thrash metal growing up, but Anthrax changed all that. Trying to like a band that has a cult following of sorts dating back to a time before I was born isn’t the easiest thing to do, not when your own personal tastes get in the way, but Worship Music finally sold me on a band that has been kicking ass since 1981, and earned Anthrax a place in my rotation.

That brings me to For All Kings, the latest studio effort from one of the biggest metal bands in the world. Right off the bat, with the minute and a half intro to You Gotta Believe, which sounds like some type of march to war and takes you into the opening riffs of You Gotta Believe, you know what this album is going to be: A fast-past ass kicking full of in-your-face metal, courtesy of Scott Ian and company.

That trend continues all the way through to the end, with Anthrax’s trademark riffs and vocals present on ever y track in between. The album’s title track, For All Kings, is one of the best on an album full of solid tracks that make even the tamest of metal fans want to bang their heads, and would be my favorite if not for Breathing Lightning.

Anthrax has earned their stripes over 35 years,  albeit with various lineup changes and a seemingly endless rotation of lead singers, but one thing has remained constant over the years: the band’s penchant for headbanging riffs and powerful vocals, and that still remains thanks to the 2010 return of Joey Belladonna, and there’s certainly no shortage of life left in these guys.

For All Kings track listing:

01. You Gotta Believe
02. Monster At The End
03. For All Kings
04. Breathing Lightning
05. Suzerain
06. Evil Twin
07. Blood Eagle Wings
08. Defend/Avenge
09. All Of Them Thieves
10. This Battle Chose Us
11. Zero Tolerance